
Paving advice
Driveway permits
What 16 cities require (rules checked in 2026)
Repaving a driveway at the same size almost never needs a permit in the suburbs. Widening it almost always does: the city cuts the curb at your expense, often before a deadline. The 16-city table and the Montréal cases.
- Free quoteWe come take a look, no obligation.
- Clear priceEvery step spelled out in the quote.
- Hot asphaltLaid with a paver, rolled.
- Quick callbackThe owner, not a salesperson.
On this page
The short answer
In most of the suburbs we serve, repaving a residential driveway at the same size needs no permit, or the by-law doesn’t mention it. Widening, or touching the street curb, almost always does. The city (or its contractor) cuts the curb at your expense, often with a yearly deadline.
Exceptions to know:
- Lorraine lists replacing driveway paving.
- Sainte-Thérèse and L’Assomption require a certificate to modify a parking area.
- In Montréal, several boroughs require a permit even to resurface, and some no longer accept asphalt.
We check your city’s current rules when we come and see your driveway.
A driveway project? We come and look, and tell you what to ask your city
The 16-city table
| City | Same-size repaving | Widening / new curb cut | Max width (house) | Who cuts the curb, cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Laval | No certificate for paving a home of ≤ 3 dwellings; resurfacing is maintenance | Certificate; only the City alters curbs and sidewalks | Curb cut 5.5 m (6 m in T5 zones); one cut if the lot is < 30 m wide | City; certificate $84 (first 500 m²) plus Public Works’ bill |
| Terrebonne | No certificate for a residential driveway (only > 25 spaces) | Curb-sawing permit, applications April 1 – November 1 | Smaller of 7 m or 50% of lot width; ≥ 40% green front yard | City contractor: $43 + $235.43 + $56.63/m (2026) |
| Mascouche | Certificate only in PIIA sectors | Curb-cut permit; ~15 working days | 6 m (lot ≤ 18 m), 9 m (> 18 m); 50% landscaped front yard | City contractor: $56.74/m, min. $299.84, + $50 inspection (2025 rates) |
| Repentigny | By-law lists "laying out a parking area" under certificates; same-size repaving not specified | Online curb-cut request | 3–7 m (9 m if all pavers or stamped concrete); 50% green front yard | City: $255 up to 1 m + $53/m (2026) |
| L’Assomption | Certificate before laying out or modifying parking | Same; culvert $30 | Access 3–9 m; gravel banned in the urban perimeter | Min. $420 or cost + 15% |
| Blainville | Certificate only above 10 spaces | Request to urbanism; up to 4 weeks after payment | Curb cut 3–12 m; parking ≤ 45% of the front lot line and 12 m | City contractor: invoice + 15%, + $300/m for a new or modified cut; last 2026 work window Oct. 26 – Nov. 13 |
| Boisbriand | Certificate only for areas ≥ 100 m² | Free online declaration (1–3 dwellings) | One-way 2.5–7 m, two-way 6–10 m (2025 by-law) | City, with a deposit equal to its estimate |
| Sainte-Thérèse | Certificate to lay out, modify or enlarge: $300 per space, plus a tree per added space | Prior urbanism approval | Curb cut 3–6.5 m; parking + hard surfaces ≤ 40% of front yard | City, at the owner’s cost |
| Rosemère | Certificate for off-street parking ("creation, modification and paving": $100, 2026) | Same | Access ≤ 7.5 m; 2 m façade encroachment; 40–60% green front yard | City subcontractor at cost + 12% |
| Lorraine | Yes: the City’s list includes "replacing parking pavement" ($30) | Same certificate | 8.5 m; paving ≤ 40% of front yard (detached), 50% (semi), 70% (row), +10% if permeable | Not stated |
| Bois-des-Filion | Not stated (certificate to lay out, enlarge or move) | Certificate ($50) | Curb cut 3–6 m; parking ≤ 6 m | 2026 sawing $408.16 up to 3.15 m |
| Saint-Eustache | Permit to "re-lay out" parking ($30.75); plain repaving not specified | Permit for curbs and curb cuts ($30.75) | 8 m; parking ≤ 35% of front yard (permits since 2013) | Not stated |
| Mirabel | No permit to lay out residential parking | Curb-cut permit | 6 m per access (9 m combined); 50% green front yard (detached) | Actual cost + 15% |
| Longueuil | No certificate listed for same-size work | Certificate ($136); work ~8 weeks later | Front-yard parking: smaller of 7.5 m or 50% of lot width | City contractor: $226 up to 4 m, then $57/m |
| Brossard | No certificate for 1–3 family homes | Authorization (no permit); apply before Sept. 15 or risk next year | Curb cut 10 m and ≤ 50% of lot width; 50% green front yard (30% row) | City: $60 + $48.95/m (min. 4 m) plus restoration |
| Montréal | Varies; permits required in several boroughs even to resurface; asphalt banned in some | Borough permit; the City lowers sidewalks May–October | Varies | Varies: $79–632/m² by material and borough |
The three common cases
- Same-size repaving:
- no process for a house in Laval, Brossard, Mirabel, Terrebonne, Mascouche (outside PIIA), Blainville and Boisbriand (under 100 m²);
- Lorraine lists it;
- elsewhere, call. "Identical" must really be identical: an unpermitted past widening doesn’t become compliant.
- Gravel to asphalt:
- Laval’s urban-planning code requires no certificate for a house, but its drainage by-law L-11870 lists surface-type changes under modification permits, so ask;
- in Mirabel, homes built since 2019 inside the urban perimeter must have paved, asphalt or concrete parking.
- Widening:
- the curb is cut first, the paving comes after;
- remove pavers 30 cm behind the curb in Terrebonne; keep pavers and asphalt out of the cut zone in Mirabel;
- apply early: Brossard (Sept. 15), Terrebonne (Nov. 1), Mercier–Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (requests after June 1 wait a year).
Montréal
- No asphalt: Côte-des-Neiges–Notre-Dame-de-Grâce and Le Sud-Ouest no longer allow it for new or replacement parking surfaces.
- Certificate even to resurface: Verdun (even partial work) and Saint-Laurent.
- No new outdoor parking: the Plateau, in most sectors.
What is still possible with asphalt, borough by borough: see asphalt paving in Montréal.
Before you sign a contract
- Call your city’s urban planning department with your address and the planned dimensions, and keep the answer (email).
- If you are widening, apply for the curb cut first, and early in the season.
- Keep your certificate of location handy: almost every city asks for it.
When we come to see your driveway, we tell you what your city requires for your project and schedule the curb cut before the paving. Prices are on our 2026 prices page.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a permit to repave my driveway?
- In most suburbs we serve: not for the same size.
- Exceptions: Lorraine lists pavement replacement; Sainte-Thérèse, L’Assomption, Rosemère and Saint-Eustache cover modifying a parking area.
- Montréal: several boroughs require one even to resurface.
Who cuts the curb when I widen my driveway?
The city or its contractor, at your cost: in Laval, Terrebonne, Mascouche, Repentigny, Boisbriand, Sainte-Thérèse, Blainville, Brossard and Longueuil.
How much does a curb cut cost?
A few hundred dollars for a typical driveway:
- Repentigny: $255 up to 1 m + $53/m;
- Brossard: $60 + $48.95/m (min. 4 m);
- Terrebonne: $43 + $235.43 + $56.63/m.
Sources
Same municipal by-laws and pages as the French version (accessed October 24–25, 2026):
- Laval: CDU-1, L-11870.
- Terrebonne: 1001, 1004-2.
- Mascouche: 1103, R-1090.
- Repentigny: 438, 441, 684.
- L’Assomption: 300-2015, 252.
- Blainville: 1417, 1418, 1679.
- Boisbriand: RV-1441, RV-1444.
- Sainte-Thérèse: 1200 N.S., 1206 N.S., 1198 N.S.
- Rosemère: 801, 1006, 1017.
- Lorraine: URB-02, URB-03.
- Bois-des-Filion: 7100, 7200, R1041.01.
- Saint-Eustache: 1663, 1675.
- Mirabel: U-2300, U-2303.
- Longueuil: 2025 by-laws, CO-2024-1285, CO-2016-946.
- Brossard: REG-362, REG-363, REG-7-046.
- Montréal: montreal.ca borough pages.
Go further.

How much does an asphalt driveway cost in 2026?
Rebuilt driveway $6–10/ft², resurfacing $3–5.50, sealcoating $0.30–0.45, cracks about $3 per linear foot. Dated, sourced 2026 prices, a calculator and real examples.
Read
Asphalt paving in Laval.
Asphalt paving, repair and sealcoating in Laval. Rebuilt driveway $6–10/ft² in 2026, no certificate to redo a house driveway, 5.5 m maximum width. Free visit and quote.
Read
Asphalt paving on the North Shore.
Asphalt paving, repair and sealcoating in Blainville, Boisbriand, Sainte-Thérèse, Rosemère, Lorraine, Bois-des-Filion, Saint-Eustache and Mirabel. 2026 prices, permits city by city, free quote.
ReadBefore the freeze, not next spring.
Two minutes of questions, or a photo by text. We call you back quickly, come take a look and you get your price, free.